Swiss watch-tradition since 1924
 

The Buttes Watch Company (BWC) was found in 1924 by Mr. Arthur Charlet, in his birthplace, Buttes (Canton Neuchâtel). The “Val de Travers”, an aesthetic high-lying valley in Switzerland nearby the French border, is well known for watchmakers in the 18th Century. During the economic crisis in 1923 which Switzerland was also oppressively affected, he founded courage to pioneer as a watch manufacturer.

From this time on the BWC-SWISS was the only used trade mark in Europe and in English speaking countries. It is also registered as a world-wide trademark.

The company first started off with producing all different variety of pocket watches. The first markets was initially launched in Germany and then expanded to England, Spain, Poland and Hungary. Later, sales areas were opened to the most important trading countries in Europe at that time like Greece and Turkey. The main overseas markets were USA, Cuba and Canada.

Mr. Arthur Charlet’s son-in-law, Mr. Edwin Volkart, took over the company in 1953 and continue to operate it with alacrity.

BWC-SWISS realized quickly the state-of-the-art in watch-technology. By 1967, electro-mechanical watches were also part of their watch collection. Thus in 1972 the collection of the BWC already carried the first quartz-digital-display and in 1975 the first fully developed quartz-analogue watch.

With the lack of competent workers in the “Val de Travers” valley and the changing of ownership in 1991, the company had to move the manufacturing plant to Canton Solothurn. All commercial activities of the BWC Fabrique d’Horlogerie SA / Bienne is since then availed by Reek GmbH in Pforzheim, Germany.

In the course of re-organization in 1999, BWC-SWISS was integrated in the newly founded Maddox AG in Pforzheim, Germany. In the year 2000, the 75th anniversary watches, designed by Mr. Alexander Schnell-Waltenberger from Pforzheim, won the Good Design Award. This award which is one of the oldest and most meaningful awards for industry design in the United States, was presented to BWC-SWISS in Chicago.

More information about BWC-SWISS      BWC "Time zones" Collection
 

Home    History    Brands    BWC-SWISS    Download    Contact    Imprint

Deutsch

Schweizer Uhren-Tradition seit 1924
 

Die Firma Buttes Watch Co. wird 1924 von Arthur Charlet, an seinem Geburtsort Buttes im Kanton Neuenburg gegründet. Das Val de Travers, berühmt durch Uhrmacher im 18. Jahrhundert, ist ein malerisches Hochtal im Schweizer Jura, nahe der französischen Grenze. In der Wirtschaftskrise des Jahres 1923, die auch die Schweiz stark in Mitleidenschaft gezogen hatte, gründete er mutig seine eigene Existenz als Uhrenhersteller.

Die Marke BWC-SWISS war schon von diesem Zeitpunkt an, die für Europa und die englisch sprechenden Überseeländer ausschließlich verwendete und seitdem weltweit eingetragene Schutzmarke.

In der Anfangszeit lag die Hauptproduktion bei Taschenuhren aller Ausführungen. Die ersten Märkte neben Deutschland waren England, Spanien, Polen und Ungarn. Später konnte das Verkaufsgebiet auf die wichtigsten Verbraucherländer Europas bis Griechenland und der Türkei ausgedehnt werden. In Übersee waren USA, Kuba und Kanada die Hauptmärkte.

1953 hat der Schwiegersohn von Arthur Charlet, Herr Edwin Volkart, die Firma übernommen und mit großem Elan vorangebracht.

Die Veränderungen in der Uhrentechnik wurden bei BWC erkannt und im Angebot verwirklicht. So gehörte schon 1967 eine elektro-mechanische Uhr, 1972 die erste Quarz-Digital Anzeige und 1975 die erste ausgereifte Quarz-Analoguhr zur Modellpalette der BWC.

Der Facharbeitermangel in dem abgelegenen Val de Travers und personelle Veränderungen der Eigentümer haben 1991 die Verlegung der Produktionsstätte in den Kanton Solothurn notwendig gemacht. Die kaufmännischen Aktivitäten der BWC Fabrique d’Horlogerie SA / Bienne, wurden von der Firma Reinhold Reeck GmbH aus Pforzheim wahrgenommen.

BWC-SWISS wurde 1999 im Zuge eines „Lifestyle-Konzeptes“ in die neugegründete Maddox AG in Pforzheim eingegliedert. Im Jahre 2000 wurden, die durch den Pforzheimer Designer Alexander Schnell-Waltenberger entworfenen Jubiläumsmodelle, anlässlich des 75-jährigen Bestehen der BWC, mit dem Good Design Award ausgezeichnet. Der in Chicago verliehene Award gilt als älteste und zugleich bedeutendste Auszeichnung für Industriedesign in den USA.

Mehr auf der Webseite von BWC-SWISS      BWC "Zeitzonen" Kollektion
 

Startseite    Unternehmen    Marken    BWC-SWISS    Download    Kontakt    Impressum

English